What Time Is It? Bah.

It’s a long time since I last wrote about Lotus Notes and the unlimited joy that is its, er, idiosyncratic interface, not least since IBM’s decision1 to host the client in Eclipse.

Too long, really – it’s such a rich source of oddness. For example, today I recevied an invitation to join some colleagues (located in Frankfurt) in a video conference. The heading in the message informed me that:

NotesMeetingTime1

Which seemed a little odd, since a quick phone call earlier had seen some time on Wednesday morning identified as the preferred time. No matter, I opened the message to accept the invitation (it’s not clear why I couldn’t do that from the inbox/preview, but I can’t). Clicking “Accept” put the meeting into my calendar:

BookedMeeting

Whoops! Well, it was more in keeping with what I expected. To settle myself, I went for a coffee (you can tell Christmas is coming, btw: Starbucks are using the Red Cups). When I got back, Notes had been busy – the Inbox message now had this:

NotesMeetingTime2

OK, it’s now accurate, but I’m not sure how I feel about a message being modified in any way after I’ve opened and read it.

Of course, we’re 0.5 of a release behind the current version, so maybe stuff like this has been fixed by now.

 


celebration

 

The BBC reports that, in an Australian Science magazine article, an Australian psychology expert “who has been studying emotions has found being grumpy makes us think more clearly”.

 

To which I can only say “hmph”.

 


1 I’d love to have been a fly on the wall at that meeting.

 

Leave a Reply

